BestPoolCleaners

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Cordless Robot Batteries: Lithium vs LiFePO4

Short answer: Lithium and LiFePO4 are battery chemistry names on cordless pool robot listings. Lithium is the general name for a rechargeable lithium battery; LiFePO4 names a specific lithium iron phosphate chemistry. The chemistry word tells you the battery family, not the run time, which is a stated figure on the listing. Read the maker's page for stated run time and charging time, read the manual for charging and storage, and compare stated figures across listings.

What lithium means on a cordless robot listing

Cordless pool robots run on a rechargeable battery, and the seller names that battery in the title or bullet list. The word lithium is the chemistry family name used on most cordless listings. It tells you the robot is battery powered rather than connected by a power cable to an outlet.

A title that pairs lithium with cordless is describing the power source. The same robot may appear in a color or bundle listing that names the battery in the bullet list instead of the title. Read both the title and the bullet list to find the chemistry word.

Lithium on a listing is not a performance figure. It does not state run time, charging time, or how the battery behaves in a given pool. Those details are figures the seller states in the specification section or on the maker's page, and they vary from model to model even when the chemistry word is the same. The best pool cleaner guide helps you compare cordless models by their stated details.

What LiFePO4 means as a listing word

LiFePO4 is an abbreviation for lithium iron phosphate, a specific lithium chemistry name. On a listing it appears as a title word or in the specification section, and it names the same broad family as lithium while being more specific about the chemistry.

A seller may use lithium on one model and LiFePO4 on another, or use both words in the same listing. The name does not by itself tell you which robot states a longer run time or a shorter charging time. Those are stated figures that belong to the listing you are reading.

The chemistry word and the stated figures are separate details on a listing. Use the chemistry name to identify the battery family, then read the stated run time and charging time for the comparison. A related article compares lithium versus sealed lead-acid as battery chemistry words on pool cleaners.

Chemistry words on a cordless robot listing
Listing wordWhat it names
LithiumA rechargeable lithium battery family name
LiFePO4A specific lithium iron phosphate chemistry in the same family
CordlessA robot that runs on battery power rather than a power cable

How run time and charging time appear on a listing

A cordless robot listing that names a chemistry usually states run time and charging time in the bullet list or in a specification table. Figures expressed in hours or minutes are the seller's own stated details for that model.

Compare the stated figures across the listings you shortlist. Two models with the same chemistry name can state different run times, because the battery, the motor, and the cleaning modes are different from model to model.

The maker's page is the place to read the full stated figures and any notes about conditions. A listing may state a figure for one mode, while the maker's page states figures for several modes. Brand guides such as the best AIPER pool cleaner point you to a maker's cordless lineup.

Removable and built-in batteries as separate words

The chemistry name is one battery word on a listing; removable and built-in are another pair. A removable battery is named as a listing feature, while a built-in battery may not be named at all.

Removable and built-in are a shopping question separate from the chemistry word. Read the listing for the word removable, and read the maker's page or manual for how the battery is meant to be handled. The article on removable versus built-in batteries explains the listing terms.

Charging dock, cable, and storage words

A cordless robot listing often names the charging dock, a charging cable, or a caddy. A dock is a parking place that recharges the robot; the word wireless on a listing can mean the robot parks on a dock rather than being plugged in by hand. The docking station article and the contact versus inductive charging article explain how those words appear on listings.

Storage words such as caddy and cover appear on listings as included items. The maker's manual describes how to store the robot between seasons, including charge-related steps.

Charging and battery handling are described in the maker's manual, not in a buying article; a question about where to place a charger, how long to charge, or how to store a battery belongs in that documentation and, if needed, with a licensed electrician.

What the chemistry words do not tell you

The chemistry name on a listing does not state run time, charging time, or how the battery behaves in cold water, warm water, or off-season storage. It also does not state whether a battery can be replaced by the owner.

For any of those questions, read the stated details on the listing, then read the maker's page and the manual in the box. The manual describes charging, storage, and replacement; the maker's support pages describe what the maker covers.

This article compares listing terms, not battery performance. The buying guides on this site compare models on stated details from their listings, so start with the general pool cleaner guide and narrow by pool type and budget.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a cordless robot and will compare battery chemistry words across listingsA listing that names lithium or LiFePO4 in the title or bullet listBest Pool Cleaner (2026): Robotic, Suction-Side and Cordless Picks
You want the robot to park and recharge without plugging it inA listing that names a charging dock or wireless chargingBest AIPER Pool Cleaner (2026): 10 Picks by Stated Details
You want a battery that comes out of the robotA listing that names a removable batteryBest Pool Cleaner (2026): Robotic, Suction-Side and Cordless Picks
You have a small budgetA cordless model in your budget tierBest Pool Cleaner Under $400 in 2026: 7 Picks
You have an inground poolA cordless robot listing that names inground poolsBest Pool Cleaner for Inground Pool (2026): 15 Picks by Stated Details
You have an above ground poolA cordless robot listing that names above ground poolsBest Pool Cleaner for Above Ground Pools in 2026: 3 Picks

Questions

Does a lithium word on a listing mean a longer run time?

No. The chemistry name is a battery family word, not a run time figure. Run time is a stated figure on the listing or the maker's page; the same chemistry name can appear on models with different stated run times.

Is LiFePO4 the same as lithium on a listing?

LiFePO4 is a specific lithium iron phosphate chemistry; lithium is the broader family name. A listing may name either or both. The chemistry word tells you the battery family, while run time, charging time, and handling are stated figures and manual instructions from the maker.

Can a cordless robot battery be replaced?

That depends on the model. A listing that names a removable battery indicates the battery is meant to come out. Read the maker's page and manual for how replacement is described; the chemistry name alone does not answer the question.

What is a charging dock on a cordless robot listing?

A charging dock is a parking station that recharges the robot. It may be named as an included item on a listing. The maker's page and manual describe how the dock works with that model.

Which guide fits a cordless robot with a lithium or LiFePO4 battery?

The general best pool cleaner guide includes cordless robots, and the budget and pool type guides on this site help you narrow the shortlist by stated details.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides